HowthHowth Harbour was built between 1807 and 1812 to serve as the official mail packet station on the Dublin to Holyhead route.
All efforts to control the constant silting proved fruitless and Howth was barely completed when the hard decision was made to relocate the station to Dun Laoghaire.
Since then Howth Harbour has evolved into a pleasant port offering facilities to the main east coast fishing fleet and to the prestigious Howth Yacht Club. Howth village is a charming place offering fine restaurants, harbour walks and access to the peninsula with its wild scenery and cliff walks. Howth Castle with its rhododendron gardens and the National Transport Museum are also popular with visitors.
Also see Baily Lighthouse
The above information was valid to the best knowledge available to the compiler but responsibility cannot be accepted for any unintentional inaccuracies or out of date data.